clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cactus League 2012 Game 3: Indians @ Reds

Next Game

Cleveland Indians
@ Cincinnati Reds

Monday, March 5, 2012

3:05 PM EST
Goodyear Ballpark, Goodyear, AZ

Justin Masterson vs. Johnny Cueto

TV: FSO, MLB Network (delay); WEB: Gameday Audio, Gameday

Clear skies. Game time temperature around 80.

Today, your undefeated Reds yet again take on the Cleveland Indians. Taking the hill first today is Opening Day starter Johnny Cueto. The Reds are certainly hoping that Cueto can pick up where he left off last year, minus the whole injury thing, and continue slicing up eyeballs as one part of a two headed monster at the top of the rotation. I'm looking forward to seeing if the "Tiant turn" returns this season.

Jeff Francis, Chad Reineke, Sam LeCure and Josh Judy will follow Cueto on the mound today. This will be the Reds debut for both Francis and Judy, who are both trying to earn spots on the 25 man roster. Francis's opt-out possibility will be something to keep an eye on moving forward. It would seem that he is a long shot to make the club if the injury bug doesn't bite the rotation, but the powers that be may want him in the rotation due to his left-handedness and contract situation, most likely at the expense of Mike Leake. With Judy, we will see if Scrabbles' man-crush is unfounded or not.

There are multiple ways to take this one in, as it is being televised on Fox Sports Ohio and MLB Network (on delay at 6am tomorrow), as well as on the radio with Marty grumpily calling the game. EDIT: The game is not actually on WLW, but it's a safe bet that Marty is still grumpy.

The lineup (after the jump) will probably be very similar to the Opening Day lineup, with the exception of the Soft J at short.


Cincinnati Reds Cleveland indians
Brandon Phillips 2B Michael Brantley CF
Paul Janish SS Asdrubal Cabrera SS
Joey Votto 1B Shin-Soo Choo RF
Scott Rolen 3B Carlos Santana C
Jay Bruce RF Travis Hafner DH
Ryan Ludwick LF
Casey Kotchman 1B
Drew Stubbs CF Jason Kipnis 2B
Devin Mesoraco C
Lonnie Chisenhall 3B
Ryan Hanigan DH
Felix Pie LF