clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Farmers Only: Lots of offense in the upper minors, not so much lower down

  • Louisville continued its offensive Renaissance, winning 11-7.  Yonder Alonso, Wladimir Balentien, Chris Dickerson, and Juan Francisco each homered.  Chris Valaika was 3-5 with a double.  The trio of Jared Burton, Aroldis Chapman, and Russ Springer combined to throw 4 shutout innings with 6 strikeouts. Up Next: Sam LeCure will start at 7:05.
  • Carolina also got the offense working, winning 11-6.  Travis Webb threw 6 strong innings, allowing 1 run on 7 hits and a walk while striking out 6.  Brad Boxberger had another relief outing in which he allowed a run, giving up 1 in 1 inning of work.  Five different Mudcats had multiple hits, led by Devin Mesoraco who was 4-6, and Dave Sappelt, who went 3-5 with a double and a walk.  Jake Kahaulelio and Kris Negron both homered.  Up Next:  Matt Fairel starts at 8:05.
  • Lynchburg lost 5-1.  Andrew Bowman and Daniel Guerrero combined for 4.2 shutout relief innings, striking out 5.  Brodie Greene was 2-4, and Denis Phipps hit his 4th homer.  Up Next: Lance Janke starts at 7:05
  • Dayton lost 8-1.  Kevin Arico threw 2 shutout innings in relief.  The Dragons only managed 5 hits, and the only extra base hit was a double by Frank Pfister. (Pfister? I don't even know her!)  Up Next:  JC Sulbaran was due to start, but he's injured, so someone will take his place at 7:00.
  • Billings won 3-0.  Tanner Robles was much improved in his latest start, throwing 5 shutout innings, but the 8 strikeouts elevated his pitch count and he couldn't go deeper.  He'll want to work on increasing his innings moving forward.  Daniel Wolford struck out 6 in 3 shutout innings.  Yorman Rodriguez was 3-4 with a stolen base.  He's now hitting .375 in a 17 year old.  Up Next:  Daniel Tuttle toes the rubber at 9:05.
  • AZL Reds lost 3-1.  El Hajj Muhammad was impressive out of the bullpen, throwing 3 shutout innings and striking out 4.  The Reds only managed 3 hits, 2 of which were by Kurtis Muller. Up Next: someone starts at 9:00.