clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cactus League Game 29 Thread: Reds at Indians

Next Game

Cincinnati Reds
@ Cleveland Indians

Friday, April 2, 2010, 10:05 PM EDT
Goodyear Ballpark

Bronson Arroyo vs. Yohan Pino

Partly Cloudy. Game time temperature around 68.


As best as I can follow, these players have been cut: Wladimir Balentien, Aaron Miles, Matt Maloney, Travis Wood, and Jared Burton. Mike Leake has won the 5th starter spot. I wouldn't have been upset with any of Leake, Maloney, Wood, or Aroldis Chapman, so I really don't mind Leake getting the job. I just hope he doesn't turn into Ryan Wagner 2.0. It also looks like Logan Ondrusek, Juan Francisco, and Miguel Cairo have made the team.

Honestly, I'm shocked that they dumped Balentien. I'm assuming that's to make room for Laynce Nix. Frankly, this is the wrong decision. However, it is not one that is going to make or break this team. Both are 5th outfielders at this point. I think Balentien had much more upside, but I don't think he would have gotten enough playing time to really make a difference. Since he is out of options, hopefully they can trade him for something more than pocket lint.

As for tonight's game, Bronson Arroyo makes his last tune up start before the regular season. I hope he doesn't get rocked because I REALLY don't want to hear the panic from fans who wonder where all of our great pitching went. It is still spring training.

Burton was supposed to pitch tonight along with Arthur Rhodes and Mike Lincoln. Not sure if that's going to happen now with Fay reporting that Burton was optioned. I suppose there's no reason he couldn't pitch.

Lineups are after the jump. Audio is available from 700WLW and all corresponding outlets. Or you can follow along without sound on Gameday.


Cincinnati Reds Cleveland Indians
Chris Dickerson - CF Asdrubal Cabrera - SS
Orlando Cabrera - SS Grady Sizemore - CF
Joey Votto - 1B Shin-Soo Choo - RF
Brandon Phillips - 2B
Travis Hafner - DH
Scott Rolen - DH Mark Grudzielanek - 3B
Jay Bruce - RF
Andy Marte - 1B
Jonny Gomes - LF Luis Valbuena - 2B
Ryan Hanigan - C
Lou Marson - C
Miguel Cairo - 3B Michael Brantley - LF