FanPost

Baseball rules question

What's the right call here?

Man on third, 2 outs. Batter hits a clean single past second base. Batter/runner misses first, though, and due to less-than-all-star fielding, takes second. He has still never touched first. Coaches yell to the fielders, who manage to throw to second, and tag the runner out. In all that ensuing time, the runner on third crosses the plate.

Does the run count?

A) Yes. The runner was tagged out after the run crossed, so it counts.

B) No. The runner never safely made first base, so any out on him counts as "before the run crosses." It is entirely the same as if the runner were tagged out on his way to first; no matter how fast the guy on 3rd ran, that run would not count.

C) Yes. What you say in B) would be true if they got the runner out by throwing to first and touching the bag. But since they tagged him out at second, the batter/runner is in play and the run scores.

D) No. This is the 6/7 year old league, and none of the runs count, because we don't officially keep score. Even if the coaches always know what the score it.

Enlighten us, oh baseball wisdom of the internet.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Red Reporter

You must be a member of Red Reporter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Red Reporter. You should read them.

Join Red Reporter

You must be a member of Red Reporter to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Red Reporter. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker